NaNoWriMo Time

I’ve been blogging less so I can publish more over the next month.

Makes total sense when I think about it. I’ve stockpiled several entries that I’ve been nipping away at here and there, just so I can have a supply of fresh stuff to post to my blog while I’m busy writing a novel.

Yep. NaNoWriMo time is upon us. National Novel Writing Month – happens every November.

It’s that glorious time of year I set aside just so I can watch myself fail miserably.

Am I being self-defeating? Setting myself up for failure because I’m already convinced that I won’t (can’t) reach 50,000 words of a novel in one month? Maybe. Do you think reverse psychology works?

That’s what I plan to find out.

I won’t post updates about what I’m writing, so don’t expect any. I won’t share details about plot or characters or any of that shit, mostly because… well, I don’t actually know much about that shit at this point in time. Like a yak on a mountaintop somewhere in Tibet, I live on the edge.

I also won’t end any Facebook posts or Tweets with #amwriting hashtags.

Just assume that I’m writing.

Which means I’m probably napping. Or playing video games because DRAGON AGE: INQUISITION COMES OUT ON NOVEMBER 18TH!!!!!!!! YEAAAAAAHHHHHHH BUDDY!

Dammit. If anything is going to make me fail, it’s going to be that thing. I’ve been lusting after that video game for THREE YEARS, so of course it’s going to be released during a period of time when I must try to remain focused on another task.

Sigh.

A sign of a serious writer is the ability to prioritize, right?

Right?

8 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Time

    • Thanks! I wish you good luck as well! I figure anything that provides additional motivation to write on a consistent basis can only be a good thing. Even if only 5,000 words come out of it, that’s 5,000 more than you had before you started. :)

      • Definitely! I’ve done it once before and I loved the experience. I have half an MS to finish so I think this could be the way forward. All the best for your and keep us posted!

  1. I’ve always had doubt when it comes to writing for NaNoWriMo. This year, I’m doing something different: I’m holding myself accountable to my peers by documenting my writing process each day. I’m also taking a photo of my face each day in honor of No-Shave November 8)

    If anything, NaNoWriMo provides that sought-after connection with others whom you might not have ever known! I’m super excited and I hope you are too. Good luck!

    • I know exactly how you feel, that doubt the creeps up when writing for NaNoWriMo. Like there’s just no way I’m ever going to write 50,000 words that are worth reading. I think it’s awesome that you’re holding yourself accountable like that – I really hope it works for you!! I’ve thought about trying something, but I worry too much about failing in public. I’ve got so much to do, running the kids around (even though they’re in school for like seven hours a day, five days a week), social and school commitments, laundry and cleaning, napping and video games…

      See? I’m a master of excuses.

      I agree, too – the whole process really does provide a connection with other writers that we might not find otherwise. November is that month when we’re all in a frenzy and it’s fantastic. :)

      • Warning: Long Comment! It has a good ending, I swear!

        “Like there’s just no way I’m ever going to write 50,000 words that are worth reading”

        Of all that you’ve said, that’s what I disagree with. I cannot attest to the hardships of raising a family–that is totally a good and noble excuse. But when it comes to the words themselves, you must know that every ounce of what you have to say is, in fact, worth reading.

        Here are a few things I’ve found myself:
        1) When I started believing I was a professional writer, I started getting work in professional publications. Before that, my work was free work. Floating around. Almost existing for the sake of itself. That’s because I’d thought of myself as “someone who writes.”

        No more. I’ve convinced myself that I’m a professional, and I’m not sure whether it’s a subconscious effect or something oddly divine, but it’s working. You’d be surprised how a change in one type of thinking will affect everything else in your life!

        2) If you have even one idea to share with the world, then you have something worth reading. Whether you have a unique experience or a new take on a universal experience, you still have something worth reading. Speaking of doubt, I’ve fought myself on coming up with “unique” story ideas for the past decade.

        Last year, I talked with one of my teachers about an idea I had for a longer work. It was a complex science fictioney idea I’d muddled over for the past few months.

        I giddily awaited her response.

        “Oh,” she said. “I think Dean Koontz did something like that.”

        I was mortified! The idea I’d been thinking up was something already done, let alone by a powerful author. I told her how disappointed I was, but she cut me off:

        “Listen, Alex: just because it was already done doesn’t mean you can’t do it yourself. It will be different because it’s your voice. Because it’s you telling the story.”

        And so that is my advice to you. Push through the doubt. Fight yourself on this. Look towards achieving human truth in every story–your version of human truth–and you will have nothing to fear.

        I hope I didn’t overwhelm you with this comment. Best to you!

      • You know, it’s funny you say that – applying the term “professional” as a means of causing it to be true. I’ve been an artist for 20 years, I’ve done commissioned artwork and portraits for people, and yet I *still* don’t feel like I can call myself a “professional”. Maybe that’s just my own lack of confidence, like I don’t feel as though what I do is deserving of that title because there are far better artists out there. Just like there are far better writers out there. How does one compete with them?

        I absolutely need to change that, because you’re right – there is some kind of subconscious, positive effect that takes place when you get your head in the right mind set to be successful.

        I would have been mortified about coming up with the same idea as a famous author, too. Although… when you think about it, great minds think alike, right? :D I really appreciate that advice. Even if a story has parallels with another story (or several others), it’s the writer’s own voice that makes it unique.

        And there is an audience for it, somewhere.

        All the best to you, as well! I’m really excited about this month. One more day to go!

      • Thank you for appreciating my comment! I was hoping I didn’t come across as arrogant ;) This has been a reaffirming conversation for me as well. We have to remind ourselves who we are and what we need in life from time to time–one should never forget her or himself.

        I’ll be checking in periodically across the month to see how you’re coming along. With that, godspeed!

Leave a Reply

